Cover Love: Carina Press

Image   ImageImage   ImageImage   Image

8 thoughts on “Cover Love: Carina Press

  1. The women in these covers are portrayed in a sexy submissive manner. It just proves that women cannot be presented more strong and independent. Media, even books have to strip women down to barely nothing in order to sell a product. Even the women who are wearing clothes are pushed toward being seductive/sexy. It’s good cover art, but it’s just sad that in all of these covers the women are portrayed as sex objects.

    • I have to disagree. The only image which looks ‘submissive’ to me is perhaps Sapphire. And only one of these covers shows a woman scantily clad, also Sapphire, which I think is a very sexy cover. Several of the images just show a couple embracing, not even very passionately at that. Two of them just show strong and powerful looking women (the look on the bloinde’s face in ‘Blood of the Pride’ and the woman with the gun in ‘Dark Vow’.) And from the cover of ‘Wicked Weekend’ the woman looks very much in control and like she has all the power. Personally, I think these images represent the content of the book. These are romance novels and not ‘sex objects’ but representations of the characters in the books. In the books these characters have goals, motivations, and conflicts just as real people do so I have trouble thinking of them as sex objects. I disagree but your point is very interesting. Perhaps I also feel differently about it because these are generally books written by women for women. The sex appeal is usually the other way around in forms of men with gorgeous six packs and such.

  2. That’s understandable, but I still don’t know why book cover artists, movie producers, magazine artists, and other illustrators have to place women in a seductive light. They don’t have to be submissive, but they ALWAYS and usually are presented as the seductress or depicted in a light that would involve a sexual fantasy. I know it’s my extreme feminist point of view. I like some of these kinds of books, but I still can’t get past what the illustrator is presenting to the women and men who read these books.

    • That’s interesting. You know, I just read some article (somewhere) yesterday that showed a study they did. The study proved that having images of sexualized women did NOT improve sales. And, in fact, reduced the sales of women to whatever that product was thereby reducing overall sales by not using that demographic.

  3. Well I’ve watched a documentary called “Missrepresentation.” This documentary doesn’t specify in the publishing industry, but focused more into cinema, T.V., and magazine industry. The film discussed how that women are misrepresented in all of these areas. They are portrayed as submissive, “easy,” seductresses, and weak. I can see how this concept can leak into the publishing industry with these types of book covers. I’m not completely doubting the study you read about, but my claims are logical and quite evident if looking for it.

  4. I understand your point, caitlambert, but I like sexualized covers. I don’t believe that a woman’s sexuality is a weakness. Quite the contrary, I believe the “keep it all covered in the prime and proper traditional way” mentality hurts women more than it helps us. It sends the message that you must conform to someone else’s idea of strength to be respected.

    Who says that being sexy is being submissive? Or that being comfortable with your sexuality is “bad?”

    SOCIETY. And let’s face it, they’re the ones that started this mess. If you ask me, they’re just trading one set of chains for another. Instead of women being expected to stay at home, cook, clean and keep their mouths shut, they are now expected to be “professional business women” who dress in tailored suits that will not beguile a man into trying to handle her. Because according to societies new standards, men still aren’t responsible for their reactions to a woman’s sexuality. That’s right, if a man grabs a woman’s ass, he’s not to blame because she was wearing a booty skirt–and we all know that’s the universal “I wanna be groped” signal.

    So I say, if we really want to fight sexism we have to stop living by their standards and live our own.

Leave a Reply

