Book Cover Design in Photoshop

So, my latest project was learning how to use Photoshop. It was wicked hard, but well worth the time spent. I can do some really cool stuff now, and I’ve only spent a few days learning some basic tricks. I’m thinking about creating a few how-to articles (strictly for beginners), because I know a lot of writers are moving towards self-publishing. Even if you’re not, knowing your way around Photoshop can be extremely helpful to you in other ways.

Below are some covers I’ve created, and some of the things I can teach you to do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “Book Cover Design in Photoshop

  1. Phenomenal job! Looks like I need to hire you next!! I actually took a college class on Photoshop and I hated it then and now. I can’t do, like, any of the stuff you’ve done in these photos. I finished a 400-page workbook on Photoshop and still I remember practically zilch about it. I just know how to mess around with text and even then, InDesign is the better program for that. I would love to see some how-tos from you, Hallie!

    • Thank you! And I have to admit Photoshop takes a lot of practice, and I get a lot more wrong than right, but I enjoy it. I’m preparing a few posts right now and hopefully they’ll be more helpful than that 400-page book.

Leave a Reply

