Writers’ Toolbox: Avoiding The Too Stupid To Live (TSTL) Heroine

I found this article, Avoiding The Too Stupid To Live (TSTL) Heroine, and knew I had to share it. I absolutely hate these heroines! They are the reason I get up and turn off a horror flick. Masochism and women do not mix. Females are supposed to be smarter than this. We do not walk into dangerous situations when there are alternatives that don’t involve going face to face with a sociopath–like sending in the hero to check it out. Before you start screaming sexism, I think it’s stupid for men to do it, too, but unlike women, men have higher levels of testosterone and therefore have a believable excuse for this sort of stupidity.

4 thoughts on “Writers’ Toolbox: Avoiding The Too Stupid To Live (TSTL) Heroine

  1. Excellent! I always think of heroines like this as just being plain dumb, but now I have a clinical term for them–TSTL syndrome, lol.

  2. Har! I agree, but your correlating testosterone with stupidity made me laugh out loud.

    Ahem, yes…heroines need brains, so too victims, and sometimes we writers need one most of all. When you find mine, please send it home.

  3. Pingback: Saturday Six: Six Reasons I Give Up On a Book | Hallie Chandler

Leave a comment